Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Recap

Yesterday Phil and I ran the CUCB 10 miler. First of all, props to him racing after not running (except for last week) for almost 6 mths!!

I just love running in D.C, period, and thought that this race was going to be so pretty because of the cherry blossoms…except that I saw maybe one cherry blossom the entire course. It’s been a cold winter/spring so they haven’t quite bloomed yet. The course was generally flat except for the Memorial Bridge and part of Hain’s point. It was really windy at Hain’s point and at times I couldn’t even lift my head up.

It was also very narrow. I felt like I was weaving in and out of people the entire time. Of course, it didn’t help that we got there late and started in a later wave. Phil and I ran at an easy pace most of the time except at mile 7 when he decided to pick it up by increasing the pace by almost a minute and a half. This was hard because sprinting in between people takes a lot out of you. But I’m glad we did it.

The night before I started feeling pretty sick and took some meds. I was nervous I wouldn’t be able to run but I’m glad I sucked it up (even if that meant a slower race) because you will never regret running or working out. You will only regret not doing it. I would run this again but hopefully next time there will be more cherry blossoms out!

Leave a Reply

