Weight Gain, Another Recipe, and a Running BREAK!

Alright. This is just ridiculous. I’ve gained 8 lbs since I joined Eq. I don’t know if that’s just a coincidence but all this talk about “it’s all muscle” is just not true anymore because how can someone possibly gain that much weight in such a short period of time? Do I have to quit Eq now?? No, no. Whatever the reason, I’ve decided to stop weighing myself. I used to never weigh myself but then I got into the habit whenever I’m at the gym and now I can’t seem to break it. No more.

Speaking of weight gain, I made this baked banana french toast casserole with an oatmeal crumble over the weekend for brunch. I found the recipe on Pinterest (I love Pinterest so much…) I made the HEALTHIER version and here’s my adaptation of the recipe. I wish I took pictures but I can attest that it was tasty and I will def be making it again! I will just show you the original pic from foodiecrush.com:

Ingredients

1 loaf of french bread, cubed
3 ripe bananas, sliced
5 eggs
1 cup almond milk
¼ cup butter, melted and cooled plus 1 tablespoon for greasing pan
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 cup sliced almonds (or any kind of nut, or even better, choc chips like the orig recipe!)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg

for crumble
½ cup oatmeal
½ cup butter, at room temperature
½ cup brown sugar

Instructions

  1. Generously grease a 9 X 13 deep-dish casserole dish with 1 tablespoon of butter. Place a layer of bread slices alternating direction of bottom crusts and top crusts to outside of pan. Add a layer of bananas and almonds. Repeat 2 more times ending with layer of bread.
  2. In a large bowl whisk eggs, milk, butter and vanilla together. Slowly pour over bread layers making sure to coat evenly.
  3. In a small bowl combine oatmeal, butter and brown sugar and mix into clumps with your fingers. Top casserole with oatmeal clumps. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate for a few hours or better, overnight (I only had a few hours and it was fine).
  4. To bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Remove casserole from refrigerator and bring to room temperature, about a half an hour. Bake uncovered for 35-45 minutes or until edges are bubbling and top is golden. Remove and let set for 5 minutes and serve.

 

Now can we talk about RUNNING?

I took this week off for my long run, only totaling about 18 miles for the week. I’ve been feeling very sluggish lately and I have been running slower. I started looking back at my running and realized that I really haven’t taken a week off (with just easy running) since the beginning of the year. This is problematic considering marathon training starts in two weeks and I will need a pair of fresh legs. So the next two weeks will consist of easy running, not to exceed 20 miles/week. I’m going to use this time to take advantage of Eq and go to all the classes.

Speaking of classes, I took the 30/60/90 class on Saturday and I am STILL SORE. Boy, am I out of shape!! Tomorrow morning I’m going spinning because I finally got into this one instructor’s class. And this weekend I’m going to ride my bike. I hope Phil fixed my handlebars :D (THANKS BABE YOU’RE THE BEST).Speaking of Eq classes, I never told you guys about Pilates Bootcamp – I LOVED IT. I was sore for days and the instructor was pretty innovative. I’m going again this week.

I have 3 lemons and lots of flour that I need to use up before I move. What should I make?!?!

One thought on “Weight Gain, Another Recipe, and a Running BREAK!

Leave a Reply

