Hill work on…the bike.

Yesterday I was supposed to do 5 miles of hill work. However, since we were hit with ANOTHER snow storm, I didn’t want to risk slipping on black ice and I was not up for running in -5 deg weather (just yet). So I took to the bike instead. I decided to try out Cyc Fitness. A new spin studio that opened in the David Barton gym. I especially liked the concept that you can use the gym two hours before/after spin class. I took a pilates class before spin to stretch me out a little.

The instructor: Keoni, who is also the creator of the Cyc Method. INSANELY energetic and made me want to keep on pushing through intense HILLS. His music was great and always made you feel like moving.

The class: At only $25/class and with access to the rest of the gym, I think this is the best bang for your buck. Keoni does not tell you what RPM to hit. Instead, your cadence is supposed to sync to the beat of the music. He also has you turn your resistance down to zero and then tells you how many turns to make from there. This is super helpful because often times instructors tell you to turn up the gear but you have no idea if you are at the right resistance. The entire class had great music and Keoni was so full of energy. It does get loud in there so if you are sensitive to this, probably not a good place for you. There was a lot of hill work (which I needed) and we used sandbags to strength train for about three songs (this is longer than other classes) WHILE going up a hill on the bike. I definitely got my hill work in.

I usually don’t use the bike to substitute for any running workout but I thought yesterday was a good day to do so given all the factors. I haven’t received my new running shoes yet (I HATE footlocker- they cancelled my order without even telling me) and didn’t want to risk injury. If you only have a few miles planned, or have an easy day of running , it will not hurt to substitute it with an activity that will help you build strength for running.

Actual running: I did my second long run on Monday. 12 miles at an easy 9:30 pace. On the phone the entire time. Through Rock Creek Park. In 50 deg weather. I was in heaven. I had not run through Rock Creek in so long and it is one of my favorite runs. I was also able to catch up with good friends and talking on the phone forced me to run at a conversational pace. Phil and I ended the day with Olive Garden’s unlimited bread sticks and salad. Don’t judge.

Leave a Reply

