Austin

This past weekend I surprised Phil with a trip to Austin for his birthday. A few of our friends also surprised him there. It was a great time consisting of a little running and a LOT of eating.

Running: On Saturday I did a 5 mile easy run @ 8:50 along the Colorado River. Austin has an abundance of trails/running paths along the water and through the city (even along the highway). This is definitely something I could get used to. I ended my run at one of the best brunch places I’ve been to in a while (see below).

Food/Drinks: We started Friday night at Craft Pride on Rainey St. All the beers and wine there are local. And there really is a huge selection. I had some honey beer that was pretty good. To top it off, there is a pizza truck in the back that serves “Detroit style” pizza. Having gone to school in Michigan, we told the guy we had never heard of such a thing but the pizza was still good. On Saturday I met Phil and friends after my run at South Congress Cafe. The special of the day was pulled pork grits, which we obvi ordered. Phil had veal meatloaf which was also amazing. Some of the best breakfast food I’ve had. Sunday: Gourdough’s Donuts (we got 5 huge donuts. The Mother Clucker was my favorite- fried chicken on top of a donut covered with honey butter), Mellow Johnny’s, chicken shit bingo (with free hot dogs), and Rudy’s BBQ. Enough said.

The donuts:

Everyone should go and visit Austin. This was my second time there and it’s only grown on me more.

Leave a Reply

