Summer…in May.

Ok, people. What is up with this weather?! This past weekend I ran in almost 90 deg heat and thought I was going to pass out. My workout consisted of 6 pick-ups at about 10k pace. I was sweating buckets. Now, if you remember last summer, I suffered terribly during my runs. It was so hot and muggy, like, everyday. Let’s not repeat that, please. Ok, maybe the anemia thing had something to do with it too BUT as a reminder (really, to myself), here are some tips for hot weather running:

  1. HYDRATE, HYDRATE, HYDRATE. Do not just hydrate during your run.  Most people forget to hydrate before/after their runs, especially if it’s going to be more than an hour. If possible, throw some electrolytes in there (like Nuun, my fave).
  2. Wear light-colored, loose-fitting, sweat-wicking clothing. Please girls, leave all that cute tight stuff at home. You won’t be so cute anymore passed out on the road.
  3. Do not run when the sun is at it’s peak. Run either early morning or in the evening. Avoid 12-3 pm. If I have a longish run scheduled, I will usually start my run at 6 am or after 5 pm. Do not make excuses- there is always time.
  4. Pre-cool before a run. Ice your neck, core, or forehead for 10-15 minutes before a run or eat/drink something ice cold. This will bring your body temperature down and prolong the amount of time running before your body temp hits that peak. I have never done this but have thought about it every single time I run sooo that sort of counts, right?
  5. Focus on effort, not pace. You will run slower in the heat. I guarantee it. Focus instead on maintaining a similar effort. If you try to maintain the same pace in the heat, your body will just get tired faster and not be able to complete the workout. Or you will just feel like crap the whole time and probably the next day. All this means is that when your chilly fall race arrives, you will be much faster!
  6. Hit the ‘mill. As much as I hate this thing, sometimes it is just necessary. Better to run on this than not run at all!

Of course everyone has their own way of dealing but these tips are what come to mind and based on experience, it does work (minus that cooling thing which I will try this summer). Feel free to add some more tips in the comments below!!

Who is ready/excited for running in excruciating heat?! Not me.

haha

Leave a Reply

