Another 5K

Are 5Ks my new favorite distance?!? Maybe but probably not. I still love putting my body through 23 mile runs in the grueling heat every summer so that I may put myself through 26.2 grueling miles every fall. The things we do for love. Sigh.

I podiumed in my second 5K race- 2nd place in my age group. I also PRed with a 22:29 (ish) – I forgot to stop my Garmin. I was hitting around 7:16s until mile 3. Then came a mini bridge and my pace slowed to around 7:30. Other than two mini bridges, the entire course was flat. I love flat races.

Image

my plaque and messy hair/sweaty outfit.

3 reasons why I am starting to love 5Ks:

  1. GREAT for speed work: If you are tired of running laps around the track, doing pick-ups/intervals every week, switch it up and just run 3 miles..fast.
  2. Perfect way to gauge progress: Running a few 5Ks before a big race is a great way to see how your pace has improved. The distance is short enough to not interfere with longer runs/get injured but long enough to be challenging at a hard effort.
  3. More races! There are wayyy more 5Ks than longer distance races. You can find a race almost every weekend and often during the week as well.

In other news, I went to the doctor for my posterior shin splints to make sure I don’t have a stress fracture. Even though I’m glad I raced that 5K, was probably not the best idea :( I will hear on Thursday.

Other other news/impt questions: Has anyone ran in the Brooks Glycerin 12s yet????

 

Leave a Reply

