Queens Half Marathon Recap

Sunday was the Queens Half Marathon! Like I said, I was a bit nervous because I had no idea how I would do but I finished the 13.34 mile course (yes, the course was actually longer and not just because I didn’t stick to the insides..) in 1:50:26.

IMG_3450.JPG

The course: Two loops around the park/lake and a lot of turns, some pretty sharp. It rained the day before and water built up around the lake so there were a few detours. This actually made the course longer than 13.1 soo that means I actually finished around 1:49. The entire course was also pretty flat. Only a gain of about 65 ft.

Organization: Very well organized despite the detours. And a great post race spread too!

My pacing: I tried to stick to a consistent 8:30 for the first 8 miles then ramped it up to 8:20 and faster for miles 9, 10, and 11. I ended miles 12 and 13 around 7:30. I felt pretty good the entire time and definitely had energy left in me. I definitely think I could have picked up the pace a little earlier.

So far I’m pretty happy with my training. I’m really nervous about Philly but also super excited!! I hope to PR this marathon and maybe exceed my goal. Here’s to some hard training!

Leave a Reply

